History of the Faculty

Important dates

  • University of Nancy counts today more than four centuries of existence. Its story begins in 1572 with the creation of a University in Pont-à-Mousson, transferred afterwards in Nancy in 1768.
  • After the victory of the French Revolution, the University of Nancy was suppressed and it opened its doors again only in 1854 once the Faculty of Sciences and Letters has been created.
  • Between 1870 and 1919, the Franco-Prussian War, the First World War and the industrial revolution contributed to the development of the University. Therefore, the academic audience diversified and increased. 
  • With the different crisis in 1968, the University was divided into three entities (Nancy 1, Nancy 2 and National Polytechnic Institute of Lorraine).
  • In 2005 the National Polytechnic Institute of Lorraine (INPL), the Henri Poincaré University (UHP) and the Nancy 2 University committed in the creation of a university federation named Nancy University.
  • On February 15th, 2010 by decision of the administration board of University Henri Poincaré, three Training and Research Units: "Science and Biological Techniques", "Science and Techniques of Materials and Process", "Science and Techniques of Mathematics, Computer science and Automation" have merged into a unique Unit, Faculty of Sciences and Technologies.
  • On January 1st, 2012 University of Lorraine has been created, as a result of the unification of Nancy University and University Paul Verlaine of Metz (UPV-M). It now includes close to:
    • 54000 students in initial education (of which 7800 are foreign students of more than 100 nationalities),
    • 11000 trainees in continuing education,
    • 80 laboratories,
    • 8 research federations,
    • 9 scientific sectors,
    • 53 sites,
    • 830000 square meters of built area in use,
    • 555 M€ of annual budget…
  • In 2012, the Collegium Sciences and Technologies (one of the eight collegiums constituted on the occasion of the establishment of University of Lorraine) has been created. It gathers together the Faculty of Sciences and Technologies in Vandoeuvre-lès-Nancy, and two training and research units located in Metz, Mathematics, Computer science and Mechanics (MIM) and Fundamental and Applied Sciences (SciFA).